211 books (11 pages) in this category

Bireli Lagrene: Gypsy Jazz Guitar Artistry

by Bireli Lagrene

<p>In the tradition of Django Reinhardt, Biréli Lagrène is one of most highly regarded Gypsy jazz, bebop, and fusion guitarists of recent decades. Once regarded as a child prodigy, he has performed with such legendary players as Benny Goodman, ...

ISBN: 9781513423760

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook
$23.24
Get eBook

Black British Jazz

Routes, Ownership and Performance

by Jason Toynbee & Catherine Tackley

<p>Black British musicians have been making jazz since around 1920 when the genre first arrived in Britain. This groundbreaking book reveals their hidden history and major contribution to the development of jazz in the UK. More than this, ...

ISBN: 9781317173977

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$82.38

$74.24
Get eBook

Black Music Matters

Jazz and the Transformation of Music Studies

by Ed Sarath

<p><em>Black Music Matters: Jazz and the Transformation of Music Studies</em> is one of the first books to promote the reform of music studies with a centralized presence of jazz and black music to ground American musicians in a core facet of ...

ISBN: 9781538111710

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$116.54

$104.93
Get eBook

Blue Rhythm Fantasy

Big Band Jazz Arranging in the Swing Era

by John Wriggle

<div>Behind the iconic jazz orchestras, vocalists, and stage productions of the Swing Era lay the talents of popular music's unsung heroes: the arrangers. John Wriggle takes you behind the scenes of New York City's vibrant entertainment industry

ISBN: 9780252098826

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$39.28

$31.49
Get eBook

Blue Smoke: The Recorded Journey of Big Bill Broonzy

by House, Roger

<P>A contemporary of blues greats Blind Blake, Tampa Red, and Papa Charlie Jackson, Chicago blues artist William "Big Bill" Broonzy influenced an array of postwar musicians, including Muddy Waters, Memphis Slim, and J. B. Lenior. In Blue Smoke, ...

ISBN: 9780807138090

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$24.81

$19.89
Get eBook

Blues, How Do You Do?

Paul Oliver and the Transatlantic Story of the Blues

by Christian O'Connell

<p>Recent revisionist scholarship has argued that representations by white “outsider” observers of black American music have distorted historical truths about how the blues came to be. While these scholarly arguments have generated an ...

ISBN: 9780472121120

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$60.83

$48.72
Get eBook

Bob Dylan: Fallen Angels (PVG)

by Wise Publications

<p>Following the success of <em>Shadows In The Night</em>, Bob Dylan's latest album, <strong>Fallen Angels</strong>, rewrites 12 more American classics. This collection is arranged for Piano and Voice with full lyrics, chord symbols and Guitar ...

ISBN: 9781783238781

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$23.24

$18.58
Get eBook

Boston Boy

Growing up with Jazz and Other Rebellious Passions

by Nat Hentoff

<p>Boston Boy&nbsp;is Nat Hentoff's memoir of growing up in the Roxbury section of Boston in the 1930s and 1940s. He grapples with Judaism and anti-Semitism. He develops a passion for outspoken journalism and First Amendment freedom of speech. ...

ISBN: 9781589882584

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook
$15.49
Get eBook

Bucky Pizzarelli Master Jazz Guitar Solo Collection

by Bucky Pizzarelli

<p>John 'Bucky' Pizzarelli is one of the best known 7-string players alive. For more than half a century, 'Bucky,' as he is affectionately known, has been a part of the fraternity of musicians who have kept mainstream and traditional jazz alive.

ISBN: 9781513414140

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook
$37.12
Get eBook

Building a Jazz Vocabulary

by Mike Steinel

<p>(Jazz Book). A valuable resource for learning the basics of jazz from Mike Steinel of the University of North Texas. It covers the basics of jazz, how to build effective solos, a comprehensive practice routine, and a jazz vocabulary of the ...

ISBN: 9781476863573

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$31.90

$25.51
Get eBook

Cape Cod Jazz

From Colombo to The Columns

by John A. Basile

<p>The first notes of jazz hit Cape Cod in the very early days of the genre. Bournehurst-on-the-Canal hosted top bands, and emerging swing era dancers packed the hall. Cape Cod's "First Lady of Jazz," Marie Marcus, was a child prodigy in Boston ...

ISBN: 9781625857613

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook
$20.14
Get eBook

Celebrating Bird

The Triumph of Charlie Parker

by Gary Giddins

<DIV><P>Within days of Charlie “Bird” Parker’s death at the age of thirty-four, a scrawled legend began appearing on walls around New York City: <EM>Bird Lives</EM>. Gone was one of the most outstanding jazz musicians of any era, the troubled ...

ISBN: 9781452940793

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$26.66

$21.33
Get eBook

Changing the Tune

The Kansas City Women's Jazz Festival, 1978-1985

by Carolyn Glenn Brewer

Even though the potential passage of the Equal Rights Amendment had cracked glass ceilings across the country, in 1978 jazz remained a boys’ club. Two Kansas City women, Carol Comer and Dianne Gregg, challenged that inequitable standard. With ...

ISBN: 9781574416794

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$35.59

$28.48
Get eBook

Chicago Jazz

A Cultural History, 1904-1930

by William Howland Kenney

<p>The setting is the Royal Gardens Cafe. It's dark, smoky. The smell of gin permeates the room. People are leaning over the balcony, their drinks spilling on the customers below. On stage, King Oliver and Louis Armstrong roll on and on, piling ...

ISBN: 9780190282431

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$61.99

$55.87
Get eBook

Chris Potter Jazz Styles

by Olegario Diaz

This book is a summary of exercises and jazz improvisation lines designed to improve contemporary jazz style techniques.<br><br>The book is divided in scale, arpeggios, chromatic exercises and jazz lines phrases from Chris Potter.<br><br>These ...

ISBN: 9781456627393

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook
$22.00
Get eBook

Claude Ranger

Canadian Jazz Legend

by Mark Miller

<p>Even before Claude Ranger disappeared in late 2000, his fate unknown, he had attained legendary status among Canada’s jazz musicians as an extraordinary drummer who repeatedly challenged the status quo on bandstands in Montreal, Toronto and ...

ISBN: 9781773025605

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook
$8.12
Get eBook

Coltrane Changes

Applications of Advanced Jazz Harmony for Guitar

by Corey Christiansen

<p>John Coltrane's recording &quot;Giant Steps&quot; introduced a system of chord progressions and chord substitutions that has challenged even the best jazz musicians. The tri-tonic systems (sometimes referred to as &quot;Coltrane ...

ISBN: 9781513414461

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook
$22.27
Get eBook

Compendium of over 2000 Jazz Pianists

by Arnie Fox

<p>... over 2000 jazz pianists listing the title of album or CD</p> <p>... introducing you to the great and the unknown jazz pianists</p> <p>... discography of the amazing Bernard Peiffer and Jessica Williams</p> <p>... information on ...

ISBN: 9781466955615

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$6.59

$5.93
Get eBook

Complete Jazz Guitar Method

by Mike Christiansen

<p>If you're getting into jazz or expanding your jazz chops, this comprehensive approach is for you. From comping and chord voicings to single-note soloing, you will learn, step by step, the tools necessary for playing jazz guitar. The book is ...

ISBN: 9781513403564

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook
$52.45
Get eBook

Complete Jerry Hahn Method for Jazz Guitar

by Jerry Hahn

<p>This jazz guitar book is a compilation of three books formerly published as Volume 1 - Scales and Exercises, Volume 2 - Patterns and Solos and Volume 3 - Improvisation Course and Chord Studies. This comprehensive edition covers all of the ...

ISBN: 9781513405544

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook
$26.22
Get eBook