Delphi Masterworks of Frédéric Chopin (Illustrated)

by Peter Russell

Publisher: Delphi Classics Ltd

Series: Delphi Great Composers

Publication Date: June 06, 2018

ISBN: 9781786561244

Binding: Kobo eBook

Availability: eBook

Get eBook

The Polish composer Frédéric Chopin is widely revered today as one of the foremost figures of the Romantic period. Although he wrote almost exclusively for the piano, Chopin has maintained worldwide renown as a leading musician of his era, celebrated for his melodic mastery and fastidious craftsmanship. Influenced by Polish folk music, the classical tradition of J. S. Bach and Mozart, as well as the atmosphere of the Paris salons of which he was a frequent guest, Chopin produced concerti, mazurkas, waltzes, nocturnes, polonaises, études, scherzos and preludes. His innovations in style, harmony and musical form would have a lasting influence on the late Romantic period. Delphi’s Great Composers Series offers concise illustrated guides to the life and works of our greatest composers. Analysing the masterworks of each composer, these interactive eBooks include links to popular streaming services, allowing you to listen to the pieces of music you are reading about. Evaluating the masterworks of each composer, you will explore the development of their works, tracing how they changed the course of music history. Whether a classical novice or a cultivated connoisseur, this series offers an intriguing overview of the world’s most famous and iconic compositions. This volume presents Chopin’s masterworks in succinct detail, with informative introductions, accompanying illustrations and the usual Delphi bonus features. (Version 1)

* Concise and informative overview of Chopin’s masterworks
* Learn about the classical pieces that made Chopin a celebrated composer
* Links to popular streaming services (free and paid), allowing you to listen to the masterpieces you’re reading about
* Features a special ‘Complete Compositions’ section, with an index of Chopin’s complete works and links to popular streaming services
* Includes a selection of Chopin’s letters in Maurycy Karasowski’s seminal biography
* Six biographies ...