Delphi Masterworks of Antonio Vivaldi (Illustrated)

by Antonio Vivaldi & Peter Russell

Publisher: Delphi Classics Ltd

Series: Delphi Great Composers

Publication Date: November 10, 2018

ISBN: 9781788779999

Binding: Kobo eBook

Availability: eBook

Get eBook

The Italian composer and violinist Antonio Vivaldi left a decisive mark on the form of the concerto, influencing the emerging style of late Baroque music. In spite of his widespread popularity today, Vivaldi was largely forgotten after death and his reputation was only re-established in the 1920’s. Vivaldi’s greatest contribution to the history of classical music was his development of the ritornello form, where recurrent restatements of a refrain alternate with further episodic passages by a solo instrument, allowing for greater depth of virtuosic display. The passion and lyricism of Vivaldi’s music would have a lasting impact on Baroque and Classical-era composers. Delphi’s Great Composers Series offers concise illustrated guides to the life and works of our greatest composers. Analysing the masterworks of each composer, these interactive eBooks include links to popular streaming services, allowing you to listen to the pieces of music you are reading about. Evaluating the masterworks of each composer, you will explore the development of their works, tracing how they changed the course of music history. Whether a classical novice or a cultivated connoisseur, this series offers an intriguing overview of the world’s most famous and iconic compositions. This volume presents Vivaldi’s masterworks in succinct detail, with informative introductions, accompanying illustrations and streaming links. (Version 1)

* Concise and informative overview of Vivaldi’s masterworks
* Learn about the classical pieces that made Vivaldi a celebrated composer
* Links to popular streaming services (free and paid), allowing you to listen to the masterpieces you’re reading about
* Features a special ‘Complete Compositions’ section, with an index of Vivaldi’s complete extant works and links to popular streaming services
* Links to rare works recently rediscovered

Please note: due to the relative recent obscurity of Vivaldi’s ...