Contemporary Irish Music for Classic Guitar Solo

by John Feeley

Publisher: Mel Bay Publications, Inc.

Publication Date: July 25, 2018

ISBN: 9781513422084

Binding: Kobo eBook

Availability: eBook

Get eBook

This book presents six contemporary guitar works by Irish composers. These works are fairly evenly divided with reference to their position in the composers' output and also to the composers' age: three of the six are early works (Farrell, Bromhead and Fennessy) while the remaining three were produced during the composers' more mature years (O'Leary, Sweeney and Bodley); also, three generations of living composers are represented. The six works chosen vary widely in compositional style, approach to writing for the guitar, and technical requirements, thus presenting a generally good overview of contemporaryIrish guitar music. This collection spans the period from 1970 to 2006 and includes Geminiƶ by Jerome de Bromhead, the first Irish solo concert work for guitar. A short introduction to each composer and a background to his/her work is included.