Classic Koshkin

A Collection of Guitar Solos by Nikita Koshkin
by Nikita Koshkin & Frank Koonce

Publisher: Mel Bay Publications, Inc.

Publication Date: April 09, 2018

ISBN: 9781513417868

Binding: Kobo eBook

Availability: eBook

Get eBook

Born in 1956 in Moscow, guitarist Nikita Koshkin is one of Russia's leading composers, teachers and concert artists. This collection includes works from throughout his 30-year career as a composer including his three-movement Hispanic Suite, one of his earliest compositions. The other compositions included in this volume are: Pan, Tristan Playing the Lute, Romance, and a five-movement suite called The Ballads: Suite for Solo Guitar. Koshkin uses dropped-D tuning in several of these pieces and favors rhythmic variety and stylistic diversity. These intermediate to advanced compositions appear in standard notation only with suggested left-hand fingering and generous performance notes.