An Analytical Study on Performance Practices

by Yaokun Yang
rrp $6.59

Publisher: Abbott Press

Publication Date: January 13, 2018

ISBN: 9781458214263

Binding: Kobo eBook

Availability: eBook

Get eBook

In this collection of academic essays, award-winning pianist and music professor Yaokun Yang shares her carefully compiled analyses of classical music and aesthetics during several different periods, focusing particularly on the aspect of piano performance practice.

Yang, who devoted six years to her research, offers extensive commentary, historical background, and comparisons of varied composers and their music. The pieces she studies include Beethovens piano sonatas, an advanced piano teaching series, the development of opera in different areas, Bachs Brandenburg concertos, Haydns piano sonatas, the Bach-Busoni Chaconne, Brahmss Intermezzo, Olivier Messiaens Vingt regards sur lenfant-Jsus, Prokofievs piano sonatas, Weberns Six Pieces for Large Orchestra, and Schumanns Piano Concerto.

With this collection of analyses, Yang hopes to provide information and commentary to help contemporary pianists recognize the beauty and the challenges of performing different musical styles in appropriate ways.