139 books (7 pages) in this category

Into the Raging Sea: Thirty-Three Mariners, One Megastorm and the Sinking of the El Faro

by Rachel Slade

In the tradition of The Perfect Storm and Into Thin Air, Rachel Slade's Into the Raging Sea is a nail-biting account of the sinking of the container ship El Faro, the crew of thirty-three who perished onboard, and the destructive forces of ...

ISBN: 9780008302474

Binding: Paperback

$22.99

Kedge Anchor; or, Young Sailors' Assistant

by WILLIAM BRADY

Immediately upon its publication in the mid-nineteenth century, this book became the Bible of U.S. sailors, who used it daily and followed its advice assiduously. The Kedge-Anchor's no-nonsense prose provided specific instruction for every ...

ISBN: 9780486419923

Binding: Paperback

$32.99

Killing Zone 2/E

by Paul Craig

ISBN: 9780071798402

Binding: Paperback

$52.95

Land Rover: The Story of the Car that Conquered the World

by Ben Fogle

As quintessentially British as a plate of fish and chips or a British Bulldog, the boxy, utilitarian Land Rover Defender has become an iconic part of what it is to be British. It is said that for more than half the world's population, the first

ISBN: 9780008194253

Binding: Paperback

$19.99

Learning To Fly Helicopters 2/E

by R. Padfield

ISBN: 9780071808613

Binding: Paperback

$37.95

London Games in Motion

by No Author Provided

ISBN: 9781780672748

Binding: Paperback

$27.99

Mahan on Naval Warfare

by ALFRED THAYER MAHAN

Over 40 articles cover naval principles, sea power in history and naval and national policies. Wide-ranging coverage of strategic positions, principles of naval administration, growth of British sea power, The Battle of Trafalgar, the moral ...

ISBN: 9780486407296

Binding: Paperback

$32.99

Making Cars at Cowley

by GILLIAN BARDSLEY

In 1913 an ambitious young businessman named William Morris converted a derelict military college on the outskirts of Oxford into an assembly hall for motor vehicles. He thus opened the first chapter in one of the most extraordinary success ...

ISBN: 9780752491462

Binding: Paperback

$37.99

Master Class In Fiction Writing

by Adam Sexton

ISBN: 9780071448772

Binding: Paperback

$27.95

Moving Metropolis (2nd Edition)

by David Lawrence

ISBN: 9781780676715

Binding: Paperback

$55.00

Narratives of the Wreck of the Whale-Ship Essex

by OWEN CHASE

In 1819, the American whaler Essex was sailing deep into the great equatorial hunting grounds of the Pacific when it was destroyed by a maddened sperm whale. By all reports, the 85-foot whale deliberately rammed the ship twice and sank it. The ...

ISBN: 9780486261218

Binding: Paperback

$12.99

Old Ship Figure-Heads and Sterns

by L. G. CARR LAUGHTON

As a history of decorative naval architecture, this unique book takes a well-illustrated look at a fascinating variety of shipboard ornamentations, systematically explaining where ideas and forms originated through the ages, and how nations ...

ISBN: 9780486415338

Binding: Paperback

$36.99

OLE Bill: London Buses and the First World War

by William D. Ward

Ole Bill is still a very popular exhibit at the London Transport Museum today. The book explains the role London Transport staff played during WW1, taking their vehicles to war as transport and ambulances for the troops. The books looks at the ...

ISBN: 9781871829228

Binding: Paperback

$32.99

Pbs Basic Aerobatics

by Geza Szurovy

ISBN: 9780070629264

Binding: Paperback

$64.95

Pbs Marlinspike Sailor

by Hervey Smith

ISBN: 9780070592186

Binding: Paperback

$32.95

Picture History of the Queen Mary and Queen Elizabeth

by WILLIAM H., JR. MILLER

Big, fast, and powerful, the Queen Mary lived a long life that included 1,001 successful Atlantic crossings. Launched in Southampton, England in 1934, the ship at one time held the record for the fastest-ever North Atlantic crossing, and for a ...

ISBN: 9780486435091

Binding: Paperback

$32.99

Pirates and Piracy

by E. KEBLE CHATTERTON

Pirates and acts of piracy were not limited to the Caribbean Sea and the 16th and 17th centuries, as is commonly thought, but ranged far across time and place. Men of adventure who took to pirating in classical times around the Mediterranean are

ISBN: 9780486448602

Binding: Paperback

$32.99

Planking Techniques For Model Ship Builders

by Donald Dressel

ISBN: 9780830628681

Binding: Paperback

$34.95

Pontiac Trans Am

50 Years

by Tom Glatch

Pontiac Trans Am shows this dominating machines full history, from early days burning up both race tracks and Hollywood to its final days as the most potent muscle car made. ...

ISBN: 9780760357668

Binding: Hardback

$55.00

Practical Blacksmithing And Metalworking

by Percy W. Blandford

ISBN: 9780830628940

Binding: Paperback

$37.95