1046 books (53 pages) in this category

Birthed from Scorched Hearts

Women Respond to War

by MariJo Moore

<p>Award-winning author MariJo Moore asked women from around the world to consider the devastating nature of conflict—inner wars, outer wars, public battles, and personal losses. Their answers, in the form of poignant poetry and essays, examine ...

ISBN: 9781555918828

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$20.78

$16.71
Get eBook

Bitter Tastes

Literary Naturalism and Early Cinema in American Women's Writing

by Donna M. Campbell

<p>Challenging the conventional understandings of literary naturalism defined primarily through its male writers, Donna M. Campbell examines the ways in which American women writers wrote naturalistic fiction and redefined its principles for ...

ISBN: 9780820349442

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$96.48

$82.05
Get eBook

Black Motherhood(s)

by Karen T. Craddock

This book considers Black Motherhood through multiple and global lenses to engage the reader in an expanded reflection and to prompt further discourse on the intersection of race and gender within the construct of motherhood among Black women. ...

ISBN: 9781772580143

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$22.27

$17.81
Get eBook

Black Motherhood(s)

by Craddock, Karen T.

This book considers Black Motherhood through multiple and global lenses to engage the reader in an expanded reflection and to prompt further discourse on the intersection of race and gender within the construct of motherhood among Black women. ...

ISBN: 9781772580136

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$19.93

$15.99
Get eBook

Black Women against the Land Grab

The Fight for Racial Justice in Brazil

by Keisha-Khan Y. Perry

<DIV><P>In Brazil and throughout the African diaspora, black women, especially poor black women, are rarely considered leaders of social movements let alone political theorists. But in the northeastern city of Salvador, Brazil, it is these very ...

ISBN: 9780816688029

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$37.14

$29.80
Get eBook

Black Women in the Ivory Tower, 1850-1954

An Intellectual History

by Stephanie Y. Evans

<p>&quot;Provides scholars with a historical lens from which to view the higher education of black women . . . [and] how one generation of black women benefited from the work and sacrifices of the prior generation.&quot;--Adah L. Ward Randolph, ...

ISBN: 9780813063058

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$17.81

$14.29
Get eBook

Black Women, Agency, and the New Black Feminism

by Maria del Guadalupe Davidson

<p>The powerful Beyoncé, formidable Rihanna, and the incalculable Nikki Minaj. Their images lead one to wonder: are they a new incarnation of black feminism and black women’s agency, or are they only pure fantasy in which, instead of having ...

ISBN: 9781317550433

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$82.38

$74.24
Get eBook

Blood, Bullets and Bodies

by Imani M. Tafari-Ama

<p>The true story of Blood, Bullets and Bodies: a critical multimedia exposé about the factors subverting the political will to act in the best interest of the poor, even when explicit just cause exists for such altruistic action to take ...

ISBN: 9781786451378

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook
$13.26
Get eBook

Blues Legacies and Black Feminism

Gertrude Ma Rainey, Bessie Smith, and Billie Holiday

by Angela Y. Davis

<p>From one of this country's most important intellectuals comes a brilliant analysis of the blues tradition that examines the careers of three crucial black women blues singers through a feminist lens. Angela Davis provides the historical, ...

ISBN: 9780307574442

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$25.25

$20.23
Get eBook

Blush

Women & Wine

by Molly Davis

<p>Whether meeting up for happy hour after a long day of work, catching up with a friend, unwinding after another day of parenting, sipping a glass while stealing time for a long, quiet soak in the tub, or commiserating over lost love, lost ...

ISBN: 9781942545842

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$13.19

$10.88
Get eBook

Bodies in Crisis: Culture, Violence, and Women's Resistance in Neoliberal Argentina

by Sutton, Barbara

<DIV>Born and raised in Argentina, Barbara Sutton examines the complex, and often hidden, bodily worlds of diverse women in that country during a period of profound social upheaval. Based primarily on women's experiential narratives and set ...

ISBN: 9780813555416

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$41.16

$32.99
Get eBook

Bodies of Subversion

by Margot Mifflin

<p>&quot;In this provocative work full of intriguing female characters from tattoo history, Margot Mifflin makes a persuasive case for the tattooed woman as an emblem of female self-expression.&quot;<br /> —Susan ...

ISBN: 9781576876923

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$35.58

$28.48
Get eBook

Bodies that Birth

Vitalizing Birth Politics

by Rachelle Chadwick

<p><em>Bodies that Birth</em> puts birthing bodies at the centre of questions about contemporary birth politics, power, and agency. Arguing that the fleshy and embodied aspects of birth have been largely silenced in social science scholarship, ...

ISBN: 9781317302438

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$68.65

$61.81
Get eBook

Body Drift

Butler, Hayles, Haraway

by Arthur Kroker

<p>As exemplary representatives of a form of critical feminism, the writings of Judith Butler, Katherine Hayles, and Donna Haraway offer entry into the great crises of contemporary society, politics, and culture. Butler leads readers to rethink ...

ISBN: 9781452933757

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$29.71

$23.86
Get eBook

Boobs

Women Explore What it Means to Have Breasts

by Ruth Daniell

<p>At turns heartbreaking and hilarious, BOOBS is a diverse collection of stories about the burdens, expectations and pleasures of having breasts. From the agony of puberty and angst of adolescence to the anxiety of aging, these stories and ...

ISBN: 9781987915273

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$19.30

$15.50
Get eBook

Boomer Babes

A Woman's Guide to the New Middle Ages

by Rosemary Rogers & Linda Stasi

<p><strong>Are you going to allow your waist to expand and your mind to narrow without a struggle? You, who marched against war and launched the sexual revolution? You, slip into midlife without so much as a backward glance? No ...

ISBN: 9781250090423

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$10.09

$8.79
Get eBook

Borderlands and Crossroads

Writing the Motherland

by Jane Satterfield & Laurie Kruk

<p>Motherhood does not just originate in the body, but in the world—a place, a region, a country or nation, a landscape, a language, a culture. Mothers are, as novelist Rachel Cusk once observed, “the countries we come from.” This unique ...

ISBN: 9781772580877

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$26.72

$21.44
Get eBook

Born with Wings

The Spiritual Journey of a Modern Muslim Woman

by Daisy Khan

<p><strong>The dramatic, spiritual memoir of a prominent Muslim woman working to empower women and girls across the world—for readers of Malala Yousafzai and Azar Nafisi.</strong></p> <p>Raised in a progressive Muslim family in the shadows of ...

ISBN: 9780812995275

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$24.24

$19.46
Get eBook

Boudoirs to Brothels

the Intimate World of Wild West Women

by Michael Rutter

From boudoirs to brothels, historian Michael Rutter takes you into the intimate world of the Wild West's women of the night. Eighteen richly researched biographies reveal the tricks and torments of the trade, with fascinating sidebars on ...

ISBN: 9781560376262

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook
$14.84
Get eBook

Boundaries and Motherhood

Ritual and Reproduction in Rural Maharashtra

by Deepra Dandekar

<p>This book links caste and gender to the social production of motherhood. The author argues that in contradiction to the assumption that motherhood is a primarily female-centred and positive domain, subaltern agency produces it as malign, ...

ISBN: 9789385932106

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$12.04

$10.88
Get eBook