117 books (6 pages) in this category

A Call for Heresy

Why Dissent Is Vital to Islam and America

by Anouar Majid

<DIV><P>A Call for Heresy</I> discovers unexpected common ground in one of the most inflammatory issues of the twenty-first century: the deepening conflict between the Islamic world and the United States. Moving beyond simplistic answers, Anouar

ISBN: 9780816673940

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$27.30

$21.88
Get eBook

A Contemporary Renaissance

Gulen's Philosophy for a Global Revival of Civilization

by Sulayman Ashrati

<span><span>Ashrati's book is a study of intellectual framework laid out by Fethullah Gulen in his call for the revival of humanity's changing power. Gulen, a prominent scholar of Islam and a social activist, is the inspiration behind the global

ISBN: 9781682065082

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$14.39

$11.54
Get eBook

A Genealogy of Islamic Feminism

Pattern and Change in Indonesia

by Etin Anwar

<p><em>A Genealogy of Islamic Feminism</em> offers a new insight on the changing relationship between Islam and feminism from the colonial era in the 1900s to the early 1990s in Indonesia.</p> <p>The book juxtaposes both colonial and ...

ISBN: 9781351757041

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$71.95

$64.78
Get eBook

A Muslim Response to Evil

Said Nursi on the Theodicy

by Tubanur Yesilhark Ozkan

<p>While Christian approaches to the problem of evil have been much discussed, the issue of theodicy in Islam is relatively neglected. A Muslim Response to Evil explores new insights and viewpoints and discusses possible solutions to theodicy ...

ISBN: 9781317187530

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$71.95

$64.78
Get eBook

A Muted Imam

Narrative of a Naturalist Imam's Message

by Khalid A. Wasi

One of the markers of globalization is that most Western societies have become diverse, and pluralism is the new challenge. With Islam and Muslims receiving so much media coverage, it begs the question of nativity and the evolution of Islam, as ...

ISBN: 9781681811765

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook
$14.39
Get eBook

An Introduction to Said Nursi

Life, Thought, and Writings

by Ian S. Markham & Suendam Birinci Pirim

<p>Contemporary Islamic thinkers are often studied sociologically rather than as theologians. There are many accessible introductions to Christian theologians, but very few such studies of Islamic thinkers. This book, and this series, seeks to ...

ISBN: 9781317181590

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$71.95

$64.78
Get eBook

Averroes and Hegel on Philosophy and Religion

by Catarina Belo

<p>Comparing Averroes’ and Hegel’s positions on the relation between philosophy and religion, this book explores the theme of the authorities of faith and reason, and the origin of truth, in a medieval Islamic and a modern Christian context ...

ISBN: 9781317176794

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$79.15

$71.27
Get eBook

Before Orthodoxy

The Satanic Verses in Early Islam

by Shahab Ahmed

<p>A controversial episode in the life of the Prophet Muhammad concerns an incident in which he allegedly mistook words suggested by Satan as divine revelation. Muslims now universally deny that the Satanic verses incident took place. But ...

ISBN: 9780674977310

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$71.95

$61.15
Get eBook

Beyond Timbuktu

by Ousmane Oumar Kane

<p>Timbuktu is famous as a center of learning from Islam’s Golden Age. Yet it was one among many scholarly centers to exist in precolonial West Africa. Ousmane Kane charts the rise of Muslim learning in West Africa from the beginning of Islam to

ISBN: 9780674969353

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$57.55

$48.94
Get eBook

Books on Asia from the Near East to the Far East

by Eleazar Birnbaum

<p>This is a selected, annotated list of some 2,000 books on Asia in English and French currently in print, chosen with the aim of providing a long-term historical perspective for the general reader. The list is presented in four main parts: ...

ISBN: 9781442633674

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$47.46

$38.05
Get eBook

Born with Wings

The Spiritual Journey of a Modern Muslim Woman

by Daisy Khan

<p><strong>The dramatic, spiritual memoir of a prominent Muslim woman working to empower women and girls across the world—for readers of Malala Yousafzai and Azar Nafisi.</strong></p> <p>Raised in a progressive Muslim family in the shadows of ...

ISBN: 9780812995275

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$23.51

$18.80
Get eBook

Contemporary Issues in Islam and Science

Volume 2

by Muzaffar Iqbal

<p>The articles selected for this volume explore emergent issues in the contemporary relationship between Islam and science and present studies of eight major voices in the discourse. Also included is a section on the operationalization of ...

ISBN: 9781351949156

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$525.76

$473.21
Get eBook

Critical Muslim 1

The Arabs are Alive

by Ziauddin Sardar & Robin Yassin-Kassab

<p>In the inaugural issue of Critical Muslim: Ziauddin Sardar tries to understand the significance of what just happened in the Middle East, Robin Yassin-Kassab spends some quality time in Tahrir Square, Ashur Shamis dodges the bullets of ...

ISBN: 9781849043786

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$31.69

$30.13
Get eBook

Critical Muslim 2

The Idea of Islam

by Ziauddin Sardar & Robin Yassin-Kassab

<p>Ziauddin Sardar argues why Islamic reform is necessary, Bruce Lawrence sees Muslim cosmopolitanism as the future, Parvez Manzoor declares jihad on the idea of 'the political', Samia Rahman gets to the root of Muslim misogyny, Michael Muhammad

ISBN: 9781849043793

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$31.69

$30.13
Get eBook

Critical Muslim 3

Fear and Loathing

by Ziauddin Sardar & Robin Yassin-Kassab

<p>AbdelWahab El-Affendi on Islamophobia and Orientalism in the age of liberal paranoia, Arun Kundnani on English Defense League and the rise of the far right in Europe, Vinay Lal on Hindus who love Hitler, Gordon Steffey on Christian ...

ISBN: 9781849043809

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$31.69

$30.13
Get eBook

Critical Muslim 4

Pakistan

by Ziauddin Sardar & Robin Yassin-Kassab

<p>Ziauddin Sardar questions the question mark that is always placed in front of Pakistan, Robin Yassin-Kassab asks why Pakistan has not imploded, Taimur Khan breaks bread with the gangsters and bookies of Karachi, Muhammad Idrees Ahmad revisits

ISBN: 9781849043816

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$31.69

$30.13
Get eBook

Death to the Infidels

Radical Islam's War Against the Jews

by Mitchell G. Bard

<p>For more than a century, much of the attention given to the Middle East has focused on the Arab-Israeli conflict. The rise of a Palestinian offshoot of Egypt's Muslim Brotherhood, the Islamic Resistance Movement, or Hamas, transformed the ...

ISBN: 9781137474582

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$9.78

$8.90
Get eBook

Effective Discipling in Muslim Communities

Scripture, History and Seasoned Practices

by Don Little

Muslims who come to Christ face momentous spiritual, psychological and social obstacles that drive many to abandon their faith. Often conversion and discipleship are framed by individualistic Western models that do not acknowledge the communal ...

ISBN: 9780830898527

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$46.08

$36.95
Get eBook

Elusive Jannah

The Somali Diaspora and a Borderless Muslim Identity

by Cawo M. Abdi

<DIV><P>As a Somali working since high school in the United Arab Emirates, Osman considers himself “blessed” to be in a Muslim country, though citizenship, with the security it offers, remains elusive. For Ardo, smuggled out of Somalia to join ...

ISBN: 9781452945057

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$38.89

$31.12
Get eBook

Everyday Lived Islam in Europe

by Nathal M. Dessing, Nadia Jeldtoft & Linda Woodhead

<p>This book offers a new direction for the study of contemporary Islam by focusing on what being Muslim means in people’s everyday lives. It complements existing studies by focusing not on mosque-going, activist Muslims, but on how people live ...

ISBN: 9781317138365

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$79.15

$71.27
Get eBook