130 books (7 pages) in this category

"We Love Death As You Love Life"

Britain's Suburban Terrorists

by Raffaello Pantucci

<p>As Mohammed Siddique Khan led his group of fellow-believers into London on the morning of July 7, 2005 it is unlikely that they were thinking much beyond the immediate impact of their actions. Driven by anger at the West's treatment of ...

ISBN: 9781849046008

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$26.34

$25.07
Get eBook

A Call for Heresy

Why Dissent Is Vital to Islam and America

by Anouar Majid

<DIV><P>A Call for Heresy</I> discovers unexpected common ground in one of the most inflammatory issues of the twenty-first century: the deepening conflict between the Islamic world and the United States. Moving beyond simplistic answers, Anouar

ISBN: 9780816673940

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$29.37

$23.53
Get eBook

A Contemporary Renaissance

Gulen's Philosophy for a Global Revival of Civilization

by Sulayman Ashrati

<p>Ashrati's book is a study of intellectual framework laid out by Fethullah Gulen in his call for the revival of humanity's changing power. Gulen, a prominent scholar of Islam and a social activist, is the inspiration behind the global network ...

ISBN: 9781682065082

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$14.84

$11.87
Get eBook

A Genealogy of Islamic Feminism

Pattern and Change in Indonesia

by Etin Anwar

<p><em>A Genealogy of Islamic Feminism</em> offers a new insight on the changing relationship between Islam and feminism from the colonial era in the 1900s to the early 1990s in Indonesia.</p> <p>The book juxtaposes both colonial and ...

ISBN: 9781351757041

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$74.78

$67.31
Get eBook

A Muslim Response to Evil

Said Nursi on the Theodicy

by Tubanur Yesilhark Ozkan

<p>While Christian approaches to the problem of evil have been much discussed, the issue of theodicy in Islam is relatively neglected. A Muslim Response to Evil explores new insights and viewpoints and discusses possible solutions to theodicy ...

ISBN: 9781317187530

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$74.78

$67.31
Get eBook

A Muted Imam

Narrative of a Naturalist Imam's Message

by Khalid A. Wasi

One of the markers of globalization is that most Western societies have become diverse, and pluralism is the new challenge. With Islam and Muslims receiving so much media coverage, it begs the question of nativity and the evolution of Islam, as ...

ISBN: 9781681811765

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook
$14.84
Get eBook

A Treasury of Sacred Maxims

A Commentary on Islamic Legal Principles

by Shahrul Hussain

<p>This beautiful collection discusses the legal and moral implications of some fundamental Islamic principles. With an emphasis upon concision and concentration of meaning each aphorism, and its accompanying commentary, is full of value and ...

ISBN: 9781847741080

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$12.09

$10.55
Get eBook

Al Rashid Mosque

Building Canadian Muslim Communities

by Earle H. Waugh

<p>Front Flap: Forty years ago, as a young scholar in Islamic Studies at the University of Alberta, Al Rashid’s Muslims welcomed my queries, tolerated my ignorance, and joyfully opened their homes and their hearts. —Earle H. Waugh Back Flap: ...

ISBN: 9781772124804

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$41.58

$33.32
Get eBook

Al-Shabaab in Somalia

The History and Ideology of a Militant Islamist Group

by Stig Jarle Hansen

<p>Since early 2007 a new breed of combatants has appeared on the streets of Mogadishu and other towns in Somalia: the 'Shabaab', or youth, the only self-proclaimed branch of al-Qaeda to have gained acceptance (and praise) from Ayman al-Zawahiri

ISBN: 9780199365302

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$57.34

$51.69
Get eBook

An Introduction to Said Nursi

Life, Thought, and Writings

by Ian S. Markham & Suendam Birinci Pirim

<p>Contemporary Islamic thinkers are often studied sociologically rather than as theologians. There are many accessible introductions to Christian theologians, but very few such studies of Islamic thinkers. This book, and this series, seeks to ...

ISBN: 9781317181590

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$68.65

$61.81
Get eBook

Ashes of Hama

The Muslim Brotherhood in Syria

by Raphael Lefevre

<p>When the convulsions of the Arab Spring first became manifest in Syria in March 2011, the Ba'athist regime was quick to blame the protests on the &quot;Syrian Muslim Brotherhood&quot; and its &quot;al-Qaeda affiliates.&quot; But who are these

ISBN: 9780199365333

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$30.99

$29.47
Get eBook

Before Orthodoxy

by Shahab Ahmed

<p>A controversial episode in the life of the Prophet Muhammad concerns an incident in which he allegedly mistook words suggested by Satan as divine revelation. Muslims now universally deny that the Satanic verses incident took place. But ...

ISBN: 9780674977310

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$79.83

$67.86
Get eBook

Being Muslim

A Cultural History of Women of Color in American Islam

by Sylvia Chan-Malik

<p><strong>An exploration of twentieth and twenty-first century U.S. Muslim womanhood that centers the lived experience of women of color</strong></p> <p>For Sylvia Chan-Malik, Muslim womanhood is constructed through everyday and embodied acts ...

ISBN: 9781479804290

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$31.90

$30.35
Get eBook

Beyond Timbuktu

by Ousmane Oumar Kane

<p>Timbuktu is famous as a center of learning from Islam’s Golden Age. Yet it was one among many scholarly centers to exist in precolonial West Africa. Ousmane Kane charts the rise of Muslim learning in West Africa from the beginning of Islam to

ISBN: 9780674969353

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$60.91

$51.80
Get eBook

Books on Asia from the Near East to the Far East

by Eleazar Birnbaum

<p>This is a selected, annotated list of some 2,000 books on Asia in English and French currently in print, chosen with the aim of providing a long-term historical perspective for the general reader. The list is presented in four main parts: ...

ISBN: 9781442633674

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$53.40

$42.78
Get eBook

Born with Wings

The Spiritual Journey of a Modern Muslim Woman

by Daisy Khan

<p><strong>The dramatic, spiritual memoir of a prominent Muslim woman working to empower women and girls across the world—for readers of Malala Yousafzai and Azar Nafisi.</strong></p> <p>Raised in a progressive Muslim family in the shadows of ...

ISBN: 9780812995275

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$24.24

$19.46
Get eBook

Burying Jihadis

Bodies Between State, Territory, and Identity

by Riva Kastoryano

<p>What should states do with the bodies of suicide bombers and other jihadists who die while perpetrating terrorist attacks? This original and unsettling book explores the host of ethical and political questions raised by this dilemma, from ...

ISBN: 9780190934866

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$46.04

$41.46
Get eBook

Chicago Muslims and the Transformation of American Islam

Immigrants, African Americans, and the Building of the American Ummah

by S. Kaazim Naqvi

<p>Through the Hart-Celler Act of 1965, Islam in America underwent a dramatic transformation. In the city of Chicago, African American and immigrant Muslims increasingly came into contact and collaboration with each other. Aided by shifts in ...

ISBN: 9781498548779

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$138.54

$124.73
Get eBook

Contemporary Issues in Islam and Science

Volume 2

by Muzaffar Iqbal

<p>The articles selected for this volume explore emergent issues in the contemporary relationship between Islam and science and present studies of eight major voices in the discourse. Also included is a section on the operationalization of ...

ISBN: 9781351949156

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$441.44

$397.31
Get eBook

Controlling Soviet Labour

by Arnot

<p>With a growing population, deteriorating economic conditions, and an unstable imperial centre, Soviet Central Asia would seem destined to become a trouble spot. Instead Islamic traditionalism has survived and flourished in Central Asia. This ...

ISBN: 9781315493237

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$84.89

$76.44
Get eBook