1347 books (68 pages) in this category

China's Unruly Journalists

How Committed Professionals are Changing the People’s Republic

by Jonathan Hassid

<p>Despite operating in one of the most tightly controlled media environments in the world, Chinese journalists sometimes take extraordinary risks, braving the perils of job loss or imprisonment to report sensitive stories. As a result, a group ...

ISBN: 9781317354130

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$72.57

$65.33
Get eBook

China's Virtual Monopoly of Rare Earth Elements

Economic, Technological and Strategic Implications

by Roland Howanietz

<p>Rare Earth Elements are a group of 17 metals which have a central role in modern industry, increasingly used in the fields of green technologies, high technological consumer goods, industrial and medical appliances and modern weapons systems.

ISBN: 9781351109895

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$72.57

$65.33
Get eBook

China, 1895-1912 State-Sponsored Reforms and China's Late-Qing Revolution: Selected Essays from Zhongguo Jindai Shi - Modern Chinese History, 1840-1919

Selected Essays from Zhongguo Jindai Shi - Modern Chinese History, 1840-1919

by Zhongguo Jindai Shi & Douglas R. Reynolds

<p>Offering recent scholarship in Chinese historiography, this text focuses on radical, even revolutionary, changes of the period 1895-1912. The book investigates intellectual and institutional changes associated with the government's Xinzheng ...

ISBN: 9781315480879

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$74.78

$67.31
Get eBook

China, Taiwan and the Offshore Islands

by Thomas E. Stolper

<p>First published in 1985, this book is about an important episode, and two of its sequels, in Beijing’s long struggle to achieve two goals, by force if necessary. First, to prevent the US from detaching Taiwan from China and establishing ...

ISBN: 9781315495316

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$68.65

$61.81
Get eBook

China-Africa Relations

Building Images through Cultural Co-operation, Media Representation, and Communication

by Kathryn Batchelor & Xiaoling Zhang

<p>The recent rapid growth in China’s involvement in Africa is being promoted by both Chinese and African leaders as being conducted in a spirit of cooperation, friendship and equality. In the media and informally, however, a different, less ...

ISBN: 9781351858052

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$80.84

$72.81
Get eBook

China-India Relations in the Contemporary World

Dynamics of national Identity and Interest

by Yang Lu

<p>As two Asian giants and rising power, the interactions between India and China have global significance. This book analyses the multifaceted and multi-layered character of Sino-Indian relations since the beginning of the 21st century in a ...

ISBN: 9781317311225

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$84.89

$76.44
Get eBook

China-Malaysia Relations and Foreign Policy

by Razak Abdullah

<p>When Malaysian Prime Minister, Tun Abdul Razak Hussein, paid an official visit to China in May 1974, it secured Malaysia a place in the annals of regional diplomatic history as the first ASEAN country to establish full diplomatic relations ...

ISBN: 9781317571964

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$72.57

$65.33
Get eBook

China: Liberation and Transformation 1942-1962

by Bill Brugger

<p>This book, first published in 1981, is a study concerned with the leadership and the people of China during the 1942-1962 period. It analyses the attempt made by the CCP to develop new policies of administration in the wartime base areas and ...

ISBN: 9780429802256

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$78.46

$70.61
Get eBook

China’s Financial Opening

Coalition Politics and Policy Changes

by Yu Wai Vic Li

<p>The twenty-first century has not only seen China become one of the world’s largest trading nations, but also its gradual integration into the global financial system. Chinese-sponsored project financing schemes, such as the Belt-and-Road ...

ISBN: 9781351750165

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$74.78

$67.31
Get eBook

Chinese Animation, Creative Industries, and Digital Culture

by Weihua Wu

<p>This book explores the development of the Chinese animation film industry from the beginning of China’s reform process up to the present. It discusses above all the relationship between the communist state’s policies to stimulate ...

ISBN: 9781351611084

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$78.46

$70.61
Get eBook

Chinese Approaches to Family Planning

by Leo A Orleans

<p>This title was first published in 1980.</p> ...

ISBN: 9781351710466

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$68.65

$61.81
Get eBook

Chinese Business Enterprise in Asia

by Rajeswary Ampalavanar Brown

<p>This volume, first published in 1995, looks at the development of Chinese business and management practices across Asia from the late nineteenth century. Experts examine how familism and informal networks have contributed to Chinese ...

ISBN: 9780429770173

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$54.91

$49.49
Get eBook

Chinese Economic Diplomacy

Decision-making actors and processes

by Shuxiu Zhang

<p>Economic diplomacy was declared in 2013 by Beijing as a priority in its &quot;comprehensive&quot; strategy for diplomacy. The political elite undertook to further invest in economic diplomacy as an instrument for economic growth and ...

ISBN: 9781317270140

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$72.57

$65.33
Get eBook

Chinese Economic Planning: Translations from "Chi-Hua Ching-Chi"

Translations From Chi-Hua Ching-Chi

by Nicholas R Lardy

<p>This title was first published in 1978</p> ...

ISBN: 9781351714839

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$78.46

$70.61
Get eBook

Chinese Economists on Economic Reform - Collected Works of Li Jiange

by Jiange Li

<p>This book is part of a series which makes available to English-speaking audiences the work of the individual Chinese economists who were the architects of China’s economic reform. The series provides an inside view of China’s economic reform,

ISBN: 9781317206972

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$76.80

$69.18
Get eBook

Chinese Economists on Economic Reform - Collected Works of Zhou Xiaochuan

by Xiaochuan Zhou

<p>This book is part of a series which makes available to English-speaking audiences the work of the individual Chinese economists who were the architects of China’s economic reform. The series provides an inside view of China’s economic reform,

ISBN: 9781317209492

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$72.57

$65.33
Get eBook

Chinese Education

Problems, Policies, and Prospects

by Irving Epstein

<p>This book, first published in 1991, is concerned with educational change. It seeks to place Chinese educational policies within the broader social context of Chinese development and modernisation imperatives by analysing issues germane to ...

ISBN: 9781351387965

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$82.87

$74.57
Get eBook

Chinese Education and Society A Bibliographic Guide

A Bibliographic Guide

by Stewart E Fraser & Kuang-Liang Hsu

<p>This title was first published in 1972: This bibliography is the most comprehensive and up-to-date reference work available on developments in Chinese education since 1966. In addition to primary materials from the people's Republic of China,

ISBN: 9781351714716

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$68.65

$61.81
Get eBook

Chinese Environmental Aesthetics

Wangheng Chen, Wuhan University, China, translated by Feng Su, Hunan Normal University, China

by Gerald Cipriani

<p>China is currently afflicted by enormous environmental problems. This book, drawing on ancient and modern Chinese environmental thinking, considers what it is that makes an environment a desirable place for living. The book emphasises ideas ...

ISBN: 9781317496519

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$76.80

$69.18
Get eBook

Chinese Fans of Japanese and Korean Pop Culture

Nationalistic Narratives and International Fandom

by Lu Chen

<p>How can Japanese popular culture gain numerous fans in China, despite pervasive anti-Japanese sentiment? How is it that there’s such a strong anti-Korean sentiment in Chinese online fan communities when the official Sino-Korean relationship ...

ISBN: 9781315414713

Binding: Kobo eBook

eBook

$80.84

$72.81
Get eBook